1. Home
  2. Mobile & Tablets
  3. How to Delete All Photos ... How to Delete All Photos from Your iPhone

How to Delete All Photos from Your iPhone

Over time, storing lots of files on your iPhone can cause it to slow down. And, while your iPhone comes with a free iCloud account that gives you 5GB of storage, it might not be enough space for all your photos and videos. If you want to free up some space, here’s how to delete all the photos from your iPhone and how to delete all your photos stored on iCloud.

How to Delete All the Photos from Your iPhone

To delete all the photos from your iPhone, open the Photos app, and then go to Photos > All Photos. Then hit Select, and tap the last photo. With your finger still on the photo, drag up until all photos and videos are selected. Finally, tap the Trash icon and select Delete Photos.

To permanently delete all your photos, you have to go to Albums > Recently Deleted, and then tap Select and then Delete All.

Note: Before deleting all of your photos, check out our guide on how to transfer photos from your iPhone to a computer.

  1. Open the Photos app from your Home screen.
  2. Select Photos. You will see this in the bottom-left corner of your screen.
  3. Then tap All Photos. You will see this near the bottom of your screen, but it might already be selected.
  4. Next, tap Select. You will see this in the upper-right corner of your screen.
  5. Gently tap on the last photo or video and drag your finger to the upper-right corner slowly. Stop when you get to your first photo.

    Note: Do not press too hard, or you will see a preview of the photo instead.

  6. Tap the Trash icon. You can find this in the bottom-right corner of your screen.
  7. Then select Delete Photos. This will tell you how many photos you are deleting. Once you have deleted all your photos, you will see the text No Photos or Videos in the middle of the screen.
    How to Delete All the Photos from Your iPhone

    Note: It takes up to 40 days for your deleted photos to be removed from your iPhone, so you will need to take additional steps to delete them permanently.

  8. To permanently delete all of your photos, tap Albums. This will be at the bottom of your screen.
  9. Next, scroll down and tap Recently Deleted.
  10. Then tap Select. This is in the upper-right corner of your screen.
  11. Tap Delete All in the bottom-left corner of your screen.
  12. Finally, tap Delete Photos. Take note of the warning in the prompt that deleting them cannot be undone.
How to Delete All the Photos from Your iPhone

How to Delete Photos from iCloud

You can delete all your photos from iCloud with your iPhone, your online iCloud account, or from your Mac. On your iPhone and on Mac System Preferences, you have to find the Disable and Delete button. From your online iCloud account or Mac Photos app, simply select all photos, hit Delete, and then delete them permanently from the Recently Deleted album.

From Your iPhone

  1. On your Home screen, go to Settings. This is the gear-shaped icon.
  2. Tap on your Apple ID. This is the button at the top of your Settings that has your name.
  3. Then tap iCloud.
  4. Next, tap Manage Storage. This will be directly under the bar graph that shows how much space is being taken up, and by what.
    iCloud iPhone How to Delete All Photos from Your iPhone
  5. Then select Photos.
  6. Next, tap Disable and Delete. This will disable your photos from being saved on your iCloud account. After a maximum of 40 days, all your photos and videos on iCloud will also be deleted. 
  7. Finally, select Delete Photos and Videos.
How to Delete Photos from iCloud on your iPhone

From Your Online iCloud Account

  1. Open your web browser.
  2. Go to icloud.com.
  3. Sign in with your Apple ID and password. If you have not previously set up your iCloud account to trust your browser, you will have to go through two-step authentication.
    sign into icloud

    If you don’t remember your Apple ID and password, check out our guide on how to find any passwords on your Mac.

  4. Then click Photos. From here, you can choose whether you like to delete photos in Moments or Photos view. By default, Photos will open the Moments tab, where the photos and videos are sorted by date. On the other hand, the Photos tab will still arrange them chronologically but without indicating the dates.
    icloud photos
  5. Select all the items you want to delete. To select all the photos, you can press Command + A on a Mac or Control + A on Windows PC keyboard.
  6. Then click the Trash icon. You can find this in the upper-right corner of the window.
    delete all photos icloud
  7. Click Delete on the pop-up that appears.
  8. Go to your Recently Deleted album. You can find this in the iCloud Photos menu under Library at the top left-hand side of the screen. This is the online equivalent of the Recently Deleted album in your iPhone, where photos are stored then permanently deleted after 30 days.
  9.  Finally, click Delete All. Take note of the warning in the pop-up that the action cannot be undone.
How to Delete Photos from iCloud iphone

From Mac System Preferences

  1. Click on System Preferences. You can find this in your Applications folder.
  2. Then click Apple ID.
    system preferences Apple ID
  3. Next, click Manage.
    system preferences apple id manage
  4. Next, select Photos from the left sidebar. On the right panel, you will see information about how many photos are videos are in your iCloud account and how much iCloud storage they are using up.
  5. Then click Turn Off and Delete.
    system preferences apple id manage photos turn off
  6. Finally, click Delete. This will stop saving photos you take on your phone from being stored in your iCloud account. After a maximum of 40 days, all your photos and videos on iCloud will also be deleted. 
How to Delete Photos from iCloud system preferences

From the Mac Photos App

  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Navigate to the Photos section in the Library. You can see this at the top of the left sidebar.
  3. Then click All Photos. You can toggle between Photos, Moments, Collections, and Years view at the top center panel of the Photos menu. However, you won’t be able to select all photos in the Collections and Years view.
  4. Select all the photos by pressing Command + A on your keyboard.
    photos app all photos
  5. Then hit the Delete button on your keyboard.
  6. Click Delete on the dialog box that appears.
  7. Go to the Recently Deleted folder. You can find this in the left sidebar.
  8. Finally, click Delete All and then Delete in the pop-up menu. You can find this button in the top-right corner of the window.
How to Delete Photos from iCloud photos app

If you’re wondering how to free up space on your iPhone, check out our guide here.

Updated on January 21, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need to chat with an expert?

Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry, we're here to help.

Techs